Click to Home

Go To Search
Departments - City ConnectionGovernment - Internal City StructureCommunity - Citizen EngagementBusiness - Tools for GrowthVisitors - Welcome

City News

Posted on: February 22, 2017

ELECTIONS: Four running for Mayor; one running for Council seat

FBTX ~ At the close of the filing period for the upcoming City Council election, four local residents had filed to run for the office of Mayor, while one filed for the open City Council seat. Voting Button

   Candidates for Mayor (in drawn ballot order) are Marc 
Traynor, Robert Dye, Andy Olivo and Harold Froehlich. Sitting Mayor Bob Phelps is retiring from the Council this year, as the longest serving Mayor in Farmers Branch.

   For the District 2 City Council position, former member of the Planning & Zoning Commission Bronson Blackson is the only candidate. Current District 2 Council Member Harold Froehlich is running for Mayor, after three terms on the City Council.

   The City Council is made up of a Mayor, elected at-large, and five Council positions, elected from five geographically-defined single member districts. The Mayor and members of the Council are elected to three-year terms, staggered so that two positions are up for election each year. 

  To vote
 in the May 6 General Election, citizens must be registered to vote no later than April 6. Voters are required to present an approved form of photo identification in order to vote in all Texas Elections. 

   Early voting for the election will be held April 24 through May 2
at all Dallas County early voting locations, which is expected to include Farmers Branch City Hall (subject to change).

   All City elections are administered by Dallas County. For more information, call 972.919.2503 or visit or
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in City News

FB Recycles

RECYCLING: What can be recycled?

Posted on: February 5, 2016